Post-Upgrade Steps for Drill

After you upgrade Drill with the MapR Installer, complete the following steps.

  1. If you had advanced configurations, complete the following steps to restore the configuration:
    1. Restore the Storage Plugins.
      1. Start the Web Console. The Drill node that you use to access the Web Console must be a node that is currently running the Drillbit process.
      2. Click Storage.
      3. For each storage plugin configuration that you want to restore, click Update next the storage plugin, copy the configuration for the storage plugin from the text file that you saved into the Configuration window, and click Update.
    2. Restore the drill-override.conf.
      In most cases, to restore drill-override.conf you can just replace the new version in Drill’s /conf directory with the version of the file that you previously backed up.
      To restore drill-override.conf , navigate to the directory where you saved drill-override.conf, and copy drill-override.conf to the Drill /conf directory, replacing the existing file.
      cp drill-override.conf /opt/mapr/drill/drill-<version>/conf
    3. Restore the drill-env.sh.
      The latest version of drill-env.sh may contain some new configurations for Drill. If you backed up this file, you can merge the saved version with the latest version in /opt/mapr/drill/drill-<version>/conf to preserve your modifications and the new configurations.
  2. If the drillbit down alarm is raised in the MCS, start the Drillbit.
    maprcli node services -name drill-bits -action start -nodes <node host names separated by a
          space>