Removing Volumes

You can remove a volume using MCS and the CLI.

Removing Volumes Using the MapR Control System

To remove one or more volumes, in the Summary tab under Data > Volumes:

  1. Select the volumes to remove from the list of volumes in the Volumes pane.
  2. Click Remove Volume(s) from the Actions dropdown menu.
    The Remove Volume(s) confirmation dialog displays.
  3. Choose one of the following:
    • Remove gracefully — Specifies whether to check for dependencies before removing the volume. If the volume has dependencies, such as associated snapshots, the volume will not be deleted, but an alarm will be raised.
      Note: Volume will not be deleted if mirroring is in progress as the mirror volume is synchronized from a hidden internal snapshot of the source volume.
    • Remove completely — Indicates that volume must be removed forcefully, even if the volume has dependencies.
  4. Click Remove Volume.
    The selected volumes are removed.

Removing a Standard Volume Using the MapR Control System

To remove a standard volume from the volume information page:

  1. Select Remove Volume(s) from the Select an Action dropdown list.
    The Remove Volume(s) confirmation dialog displays.
  2. Choose one of the following:
    • Remove gracefully — Specifies whether to check for dependencies before removing the volume. If the volume has dependencies, such as associated snapshots, the volume will not be deleted, but an alarm will be raised.
      Note: Volume will not be deleted if mirroring is in progress as the mirror volume is synchronized from a hidden internal snapshot of the source volume.
    • Remove completely — Indicates that volume must be removed forcefully, even if the volume has dependencies.
  3. Click Remove Volume.

Removing a Mirror Volume Using the MapR Control System

To remove a mirror volume from the volume information page:

  1. Select Remove Volume from the Select an Action dropdown list.
    The Remove Volume confirmation dialog displays.
  2. Choose one of the following:
    • Remove gracefully — Specifies whether to check for dependencies, such as associated snapshots, before removing the volume. If mirroring is in progress, the volume will not be deleted as the mirror volume is synchronized from a hidden internal snapshot of the source volume; however, an alarm will be raised.
    • Remove completely — Indicates that volume must be removed forcefully, even if the volume has dependencies.
  3. Click Remove Volume.

Removing Volumes Using the CLI or REST API

The basic command to remove a volume is:

maprcli volume remove -name <volume name>

For complete reference information, see volume remove.

Note: When a volume is removed, the data present in that volume is not purged from the file system immediately. The following parameters control when the deleted volumes are purged.
  • cldb.purge.delay.hours — Time to wait (in hours) to trigger purge of any volume after CLDB becomes master. The default value is 1 hour.
  • cldb.volumes.purge.frequency — The frequency (in minutes) for purging the data of deleted volumes. The default value is 60 minutes.
    Use the maprcli command to set these parameters. For example:
    maprcli config save -values {"cldb.purge.delay.hours":"2"}
    maprcli config save -values {"cldb.volumes.purge.frequency":"120"}