How Tickets Work

When an authenticated user runs a client, the client uses that user's ticket to communicate securely with the server. After Enabling Wire-level Security, supported communications channels between client and server are encrypted.

Nodes use tickets to identify themselves to one another in order to prevent spoofing, a condition where an untrusted machine presents itself as a trusted machine to gain access to the cluster.

User Blacklisting

System administrators can use the command line interface to blacklist a user. A blacklist command invalidates all of a user's tickets. Once a blacklist command is received by the CLDB, the name of the blacklisted user is sent to all FileServer nodes, which reject any request sent by that user that has a ticket older than the blacklist's time stamp. Due to the nature of this check, there is no explicit removal of a blacklist. Issuing a new ticket with a time stamp more recent than the blacklist's time stamp implicitly removes the user from the blacklist. To permanently prevent a user from logging in again, revoke the user's credentials in the PAM registry.

What Blacklisting Affects

A blacklisted user cannot access the MapR file system or the CLDB, but since blacklisting only revokes a user's existing valid tickets, be aware of the following interactions:

  • Blacklisting has no effect on Oozie's cached credentials in ~/.oozie-auth-token, and has no effect on Oozie in general, even after a restart.
  • Blacklisting does not affect a new authentication with user ID and password or with existing Kerberos credentials.
  • Since NFS does not use MapR tickets, blacklisting does not affect NFS access.
  • Blacklisted users can still be impersonated as impersonation does not check whether a user is blacklisted or not.