Deleting an AWS Stack

MapR resources in AWS are grouped together, making it easy for you to remove them. You can use the MapR Installer Destroy button to delete an AWS stack in one operation. The Destroy button appears when the MapR Installer detects cloud installations that were created using MapR scripts.

You can also use AWS menu commands to delete an AWS stack. Because the MapR stack is an Auto Scaling Group, deleting it using AWS menu commands requires some extra steps. First, you must disable certain AWS processes that protect against shutting down the stack. Then you must delete the stack.

Delete an AWS Stack Using the Destroy Button

To remove an AWS stack in one operation, use the MapR Installer Destroy button:
  1. Log in to the MapR Installer.
  2. On the status page, click the Destroy button. The MapR Installer prompts you for your user name and password.
  3. Enter your user name and password, and click OK.

Delete Suspended Processes

Use these steps if you want to delete your MapR stack using AWS menu commands. You do not need to use these steps if you use the MapR Installer Destroy button. To remove a MapR stack using AWS menu commands, you must delete suspended processes and then delete the stack.
  1. Click Services > EC2.
  2. In the left navigation pane, under Auto Scaling, click the link to Auto Scaling Groups.
  3. In the list of Auto Scaling Groups, find and select the name of your stack.
    Tip: Type the first few letters of the stack name in the Filter field to find the stack.
  4. Click the Details tab to select it.
  5. Click Edit.
  6. Scroll down to the Suspended Processes section:

  7. Click the "x" in each of the suspended processes to delete it.
  8. Click Save.

Delete the Stack

You do not need to use these steps if you use the MapR Installer Destroy button. To remove an AWS stack manually, you must delete suspended processes and then delete the stack.
  1. Navigate to the CloudFormation section, and select your stack.
  2. From the Actions menu, select Delete Stack.
  3. To confirm the delete operation, click Yes, Delete.